About us

The Equality Network is a non-partisan organisation of groups dedicated to reducing poverty and inequality, so as to improve the well-being of all New Zealanders.

The network started life in 2012 after some 30 like-minded organisations attended a national hui convened principally by people from two groups, Closer Together – Whakatata Mai and Income Equality Aotearoa New Zealand – Closing the Gap. At this hui it was agreed that we could all be more successful in our efforts if we worked together under the mantra of, ‘More equal societies are better for all’.

The network serves as a virtual hub for this movement, enabling the member organisations to work together better. We help share information among members, co-ordinate actions, agree on key strategic goals and support each other’s work. If you would like to join us, please contact us here.

The network has agreed to operate in a way that:

  • enhances the work of the individual movements of the network;
  • tackles issues that arise because of unequal societies as they arise, on a collective basis;
  • shares programmes from the participating members of the network; and
  • has a shared direction and a strategic plan.

The network is directed by a steering and organising group that meets every month. The current members of the group are:

  • Prudence Stone  Public Health Association (Convener)
  • Peter Malcolm  Income Equality Aotearoa New Zealand – Closing the Gap
  • Jo Vicente-Angeles Living Wage
  • Jo Spratt Oxfam
  • Ruby Powell Action Station
  • Janfrie Wakim  Child Poverty Action Group
  • Ros Rice  Community Networks Aotearoa
  • Debbie Leyland UCAN
  • Max Rashbrooke (Advisor)
  • Rae Julian (Networker)
  • Tracey Sharp (Webmaster)

The Equality Network is supported by the JR McKenzie Trust

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *